Top

November 2014 Script Sales

Steve JobsSteve McQueenSouth ParkScary Stories

A (presumably metric) ton of scripts were picked up from the 2014 Brit List, including Tamzin Rafn’s comedy Alice in La La Land, Matt Greenhalgh’s thriller Silencers, Paul Valnay’s sci-fi Sick Robot, and Lydia Adetunji’s psychological horror A Little Music. Back in the States, Industry Entertainment optioned Adam Taylor Barker’s Dig, a revenge thriller set in the Appalachian Mountains. McG will produce the spec script The Babysitter, a coming-of-age horror from Brian Duffield. Mark Waters has signed on to #direct the #highschoolcomedy #Catfight by Amelie Gillette (hashtags should be kept to a minimum). And Paramount bought two specs: Eric Koenig’s Matriarch, a thriller that pits a female prison psychologist against a female serial killer, and the screenplay ARES (Allied Recovery of the Extraordinary and Supernatural), in the vein of Indiana Jones and Men in Black, written by Michael Starrbury, a former Script Pipeline “Recommend” writer.

Other script sales include:

– Universal took over Aaron Sorkin’s Steve Jobs biopic from Sony.

– Jason Reitman to direct I Would Only Rob Banks for My Family, written by Nick Hornby and based on Skip Hollandsworth’s article.

– Terry Rossio will write and Robert Downey Jr. will produce Yucatan, based on a 1700-page treatment by actor Steve McQueen.

– John August will adapt Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark.

South Park and Team America writer Pam Brady to pen a comedy about female football fans, based on an idea by Laura Dern and Judd Apatow.

– Steven Seagal to star in and produce his script Cypher.

View More Script Sales