was successfully added to your cart.
Category

Script Sales

December 2014 Script Sales

By | Script Sales

ObamasWill Ferrell ZoolanderRobin Hood

It was a slower month for script sales (as Decembers usually are). Richard Tanne will write Southside with You, a romance based on Barack and Michelle Obama’s first date. State Street Pictures and Paramount are moving forward with Zach Frenkel’s 2013 Black List comedy Make a Wish. Ted Nusbaum sold his coming-of-age sports drama In the Crease, which takes place in the world of lacrosse. Will Ferrell tostar in a comedy about the competitive world of Shakespearean theatre companies, based on a pitch by David Guion and Michael Handelman. And Disney picked up Brandon Barker’s revisionist Robin Hood spec Nottingham and Hood.

Other script sales include:

– Jim Carrey will star in Deep Cover, based on a pitch from Johnny Rosenthal.

– LAIKA Entertainment is gearing up for their next animated feature, with Chris Butler (ParaNorman) and Marc Haimes on scripting duties, and Matthew McConaughey, Charlize Theron, Rooney Mara, and Ralph Fiennes lending their voices.

– Michael Starrbury (a former Script Pipeline “Recommend”) was hired to rewrite Ed Terrestrial, produced by Shrek‘s Andrew Adamson.

– Robert D. Siegel (The Wrestler) writing The Founder, a biopic based on the salesman who helped brothers Mac and Dick McDonald turn their restaurant into a multi-billion dollar franchise.

– Rob Riggle and Tom Lennon to rewrite and star in the comedy The Boondoogle, about a business trip that turns into a psychedelic vortex of sex, violence, and goats.

November 2014 Script Sales

By | Script Sales

Steve JobsSteve McQueenSouth ParkScary Stories

A (presumably metric) ton of scripts were picked up from the 2014 Brit List, including Tamzin Rafn’s comedy Alice in La La Land, Matt Greenhalgh’s thriller Silencers, Paul Valnay’s sci-fi Sick Robot, and Lydia Adetunji’s psychological horror A Little Music. Back in the States, Industry Entertainment optioned Adam Taylor Barker’s Dig, a revenge thriller set in the Appalachian Mountains. McG will produce the spec script The Babysitter, a coming-of-age horror from Brian Duffield. Mark Waters has signed on to #direct the #highschoolcomedy #Catfight by Amelie Gillette (hashtags should be kept to a minimum). And Paramount bought two specs: Eric Koenig’s Matriarch, a thriller that pits a female prison psychologist against a female serial killer, and the screenplay ARES (Allied Recovery of the Extraordinary and Supernatural), in the vein of Indiana Jones and Men in Black, written by Michael Starrbury, a former Script Pipeline “Recommend” writer.

Other script sales include:

– Universal took over Aaron Sorkin’s Steve Jobs biopic from Sony.

– Jason Reitman to direct I Would Only Rob Banks for My Family, written by Nick Hornby and based on Skip Hollandsworth’s article.

– Terry Rossio will write and Robert Downey Jr. will produce Yucatan, based on a 1700-page treatment by actor Steve McQueen.

– John August will adapt Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark.

South Park and Team America writer Pam Brady to pen a comedy about female football fans, based on an idea by Laura Dern and Judd Apatow.

– Steven Seagal to star in and produce his script Cypher.

View More Script Sales

October 2014 Script Sales

By | Script Sales

Rob ZombieBridget JonesLego Batman

Hollywood got into the Halloween spirit this month, with several horror and thriller projects moving forward. Rob Zombie will direct his own script 31, a Most Dangerous Game-esque story with murderous clowns hunting carnival workers (what, you expected something else?). Sam Raimi producing A Man in the Dark, written by Fede Alvarez and Rodo Sayagues, in which teen burglars break into a psychopath’s house. Comedian Jordan Peele sold Get Out, a horror script that focuses on the fears of being a modern black man, to Darko Entertainment. Radar Pictures picked up Travis Baker and Richard Tanne’s spec horror/thriller Midnight. Shawn Levi will produce Andrew Barrer and Gabe Ferrari’s spec Low Tide, and Original Film optioned Eric Heisserer’s pitch Exposure, a supernatural thriller in the vein of The Ring.

Other script sales include:

– Emma Thompson has been tapped to rewrite Bridget Jones’ Baby. Hopefully, things will work out better for Bridget than they did for Rosemary.

– Seth Grahame-Smith will write Lego Batman, a spinoff from The Lego Movie. Phil Lord and Christopher Miller (the writer/directors of the first movie) will produce.

– Steve Pink and Jeff Morris sold their comedy pitch Cop Swap to MGM.

– Katie Dippold and Paul Feig to write the Ghostbusters remake/reboot.

– Peter Warren will write Thrill Ride, a horror-comedy based on an idea by Neighbors‘ Andrew Jay Cohen and Brendan O’Brien.

View More Script Sales

September 2014 Script Sales

By | Script Sales

JawsAngelina JolieZacEfron

Female-driven stories made a good showing in September. Anthony Jaswinski sold two specs: May You Live in Interesting Times, an espionage action about a female assassin, based on a story by Jaswinski and Luke Goltz, and In the Deep, a suspense/thriller about a young woman stuck 20 yards offshore with a great white shark. Element Pictures optioned Laird Hunt’s novel Neverhome, a Mulan-esque story about a woman fighting for the Union, with Lenny Abrahamson attached to direct. The horror/thriller spec Scarecrow by Mike Scannell, in which a mother defends her daughters from a psychopath, is moving forward at Screen Gems and Unbroken Pictures. And finally, Mourning Glory has found Karen Leigh Hopkins (Because I Said So) to adapt Warren Adler’s black comedy about a single mother who attends funerals and hits on the rich, newly-widowed husbands.

Other script sales include:

– John Phillips’ Dirty Grandpa is moving forward with Zac Efron and Robert De Niro attached to star.

– Akiva Goldsman (A Beautiful Mind, The Da Vinci Code) has been brought on to Robert Ludlum’s The Janson Directive.

23 Jump Street, Top Gun 2, and CHiPs have all found new writers for the adaptations.

– The Salon.com article “The Craziest OkCupid Date Ever” to be adapted by Adam Brooks (Definitely, Maybe).

– Angelina Jolie producing/directing Africa by Eric Roth, a biopic about paleoanthropologist Richard Leakey.

View More Script Sales

August 2014 Script Sales

By | Script Sales

LonelyHasselhoffHepburnAquaman

Brian Grazer, Alex Kurtzman, and Robert Orci have optioned a dozen Anne Rice novels, including Interview with a Vampire, to be adapted into a series The Vampire Chronicles with Universal. Stan Lee’s idea Apollo Rising will be combined with the February spec sale Eternal by Victoria Aveyard. Two projects set on space colonies are in the pipeline: Out of this World by Allan Loeb and Moonfall by David Weil. In the comedy world, Relativity picked up All Day and a Night, a pitch by Jonathan Goldstein & John Francis Daley (Horrible Bosses), and Hyde Park optioned Peter Hoare’s Killing Hasselhoff. . . Ken Jeong, David Hasselhoff, and Hulk Hogan to star. The Lonely Island is also getting a movie.

Other script sales include:

Frozen and Wreck-It Ralph‘s Jennifer Lee to adapt A Wrinkle in Time.

– Katharine Hepburn, The Three Tenors, and some Brazilian hitman who killed 492 people are getting biopics.

– Leonardo DiCaprio, Tobey Maguire, and Tom Hardy producing an animal trafficking film.

– Journey to the Center of the Earth gets a sequel while The Texas Chainsaw Massacre will see a prequel.

– DC and Warner Bros. have hired two writers to see who will write the Aquaman movie.