was successfully added to your cart.
Category

Script Sales

March 2015 Script Sales

By | Script Sales

Substitute TeacherTHE_LEGO®_MOVIE-2-600x433Alien Nation

March was a great month for sci-fi writers, with numerous projects moving forward at different companies. Warner Bros. picked up Jim Uhls’ spec The Leviathan, Matt Savelloni’s horror/sci-fi spec Temple found a home at Erebus Pictures, Chris Hager’s spec Proxima is moving forward with David Lancaster and Jim Wedaa producing, and 20th Century Fox bought Dan Futterman’s dystopian spec A Shot in the Eye. Outside of the sci-fi world, Benderspink will produce Eric Bress’ spec thriller American Hostage, about home invaders who chose the wrong house. Finally, a few supernatural thriller specs are moving forward, including Descendent by Jeff Buhler and Realm by Rebecca Sonnenshine.

Other script sales:

– Jason Segel and Drew Pearce to write The Billion Brick Race, a spinoff from The Lego Movie.

– Gone Girl‘s Gillian Flynn and 12 Years a Slave‘s Steve McQueen are teaming for the crime/thriller Widows, about four widows attempting to successfully pull off the heist their husbands died during.

– Art Marcum and Matt Holloway to write the Alien Nation remake.

– Paramount is moving forward on Substitute Teacher, based on the sketch by Key and Peele and written by Rich Talarico and Alex Rubens.

– Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg to produce the female-driven, high school sex comedy All the Way by Kelly Oxford.

– Ridley Scott to produce an adaptation of George MacDonald Fraser’s Flashman novels.

February 2015 Script Sales

By | Script Sales

Alien - Sigourney WeaverRed_Sonja_002Space Invaders

For the second month in a row, Script Pipeline alums have made some waves: Evan Daugherty has signed on the write the Tomb Raider reboot, and Tripper Clancy will pen Hasbro’s Hacker Camp, each adding another script to their growing slates of projects. In other news, February was a rather busy month. Sony made a few purchases: Sniper Elite, a thriller based on the Gil Shannon novels by Scott McEwen and to be written by Sheldon Turner; Michael Finch and Alex Litvak’s Medieval, which is described as The Dirty Dozen set in the Middle Ages; and Steve Conrad’s adventure/comedy pitch about a driverless car race from Paris to Beijing, Gore Verbinski helming. Brendan O’Brien and Andrew J. Cohen’s comedy The House was part of a bidding war, eventually finding a home at New Line. John Hamburg, Nicholas Stoller, and Ian Helfer sold their comedy Why Him?, a comedy about a feud between a father and his daughter’s internet billionaire boyfriend. James Franco in negotiations to star.

Other script sales:

– The first Pee-Wee Herman movie since 1988, Paul Reubens and Paul Rust’s Pee-Wee’s Big Holiday has been snagged by Netflix and Apatow Productions.

– Christopher Cosmos will write a Red Sonja adaptation for Millennium Films.

– Max Yaney and Luke Goltz’s spec crime-drama Smoke found a home at Relativity. The script is based on the true story of Joey Ippolito, socialite and speedboat racer who also smuggled cocaine.

District 9’s Neill Blomkamp to develop and direct a new Alien sequel.

– Warner Bros. picked up a Space Invaders movie, with Daniel Kunka attached to write.

January 2015 Script Sales

By | Script Sales

Zombies vs RobotsCatGone GirlThe Jetsons

2015 started out strong for former Script Pipeline Finalist Matt Altman, who sold his sci-fi/action spec Sam & Liz: A Killer Love Story to Relativity Media. Oren Uziel (22 Jump Street) has been hired to rewrite Zombies vs. Robots, based on the comic book by Chris Ryall and Ashley Wood. January was also a good mention for comedy with Barry Sonnenfeld signing on to direct Nine Lives by Dan Antoniazzi and Ben Shiffrin in which a businessman finds himself in the body of the family cat. Aaron Buchsbaum and Teddy Riley sold their comedy pitch Psych to Sony and Columbia. Bobby Farrelly has signed on to direct the comedy One Night Stan, written by Kevin Barnett, Chris Pappas, and Mike Bernier. Benderspink and CBS Films are producing Senior Year by Andrew Knauer and Arthur Pielli, a comedy about a high school cheerleader who wakes up from a coma after twenty years and decides to go back to school to become the prom queen.

Other script sales:

Gone Girl team Gillian Flynn and David Fincher will pen and direct (respectively) an adaptation of Hitchcock’s Strangers on a Train.

– Edgar Wright is moving forward on his action/comedy Baby Driver, which is centered on a young getaway driver for bank robbers.

– In news related to the two biggest Star franchises: Simon Pegg and Doug Jung to write the third Star Trek, and Chris Weitz will script the as-of-now untitled Star Wars spinoff.

 Selma director/co-writer Ava DuVernay will write, direct, and produce a drama with elements of mystery and romance set against the backdrop of Hurricane Katrina.

– Matt Lieberman will adapt The Jetsons for the big screen.

December 2014 Script Sales

By | Script Sales

ObamasWill Ferrell ZoolanderRobin Hood

It was a slower month for script sales (as Decembers usually are). Richard Tanne will write Southside with You, a romance based on Barack and Michelle Obama’s first date. State Street Pictures and Paramount are moving forward with Zach Frenkel’s 2013 Black List comedy Make a Wish. Ted Nusbaum sold his coming-of-age sports drama In the Crease, which takes place in the world of lacrosse. Will Ferrell tostar in a comedy about the competitive world of Shakespearean theatre companies, based on a pitch by David Guion and Michael Handelman. And Disney picked up Brandon Barker’s revisionist Robin Hood spec Nottingham and Hood.

Other script sales include:

– Jim Carrey will star in Deep Cover, based on a pitch from Johnny Rosenthal.

– LAIKA Entertainment is gearing up for their next animated feature, with Chris Butler (ParaNorman) and Marc Haimes on scripting duties, and Matthew McConaughey, Charlize Theron, Rooney Mara, and Ralph Fiennes lending their voices.

– Michael Starrbury (a former Script Pipeline “Recommend”) was hired to rewrite Ed Terrestrial, produced by Shrek‘s Andrew Adamson.

– Robert D. Siegel (The Wrestler) writing The Founder, a biopic based on the salesman who helped brothers Mac and Dick McDonald turn their restaurant into a multi-billion dollar franchise.

– Rob Riggle and Tom Lennon to rewrite and star in the comedy The Boondoogle, about a business trip that turns into a psychedelic vortex of sex, violence, and goats.

November 2014 Script Sales

By | Script Sales

Steve JobsSteve McQueenSouth ParkScary Stories

A (presumably metric) ton of scripts were picked up from the 2014 Brit List, including Tamzin Rafn’s comedy Alice in La La Land, Matt Greenhalgh’s thriller Silencers, Paul Valnay’s sci-fi Sick Robot, and Lydia Adetunji’s psychological horror A Little Music. Back in the States, Industry Entertainment optioned Adam Taylor Barker’s Dig, a revenge thriller set in the Appalachian Mountains. McG will produce the spec script The Babysitter, a coming-of-age horror from Brian Duffield. Mark Waters has signed on to #direct the #highschoolcomedy #Catfight by Amelie Gillette (hashtags should be kept to a minimum). And Paramount bought two specs: Eric Koenig’s Matriarch, a thriller that pits a female prison psychologist against a female serial killer, and the screenplay ARES (Allied Recovery of the Extraordinary and Supernatural), in the vein of Indiana Jones and Men in Black, written by Michael Starrbury, a former Script Pipeline “Recommend” writer.

Other script sales include:

– Universal took over Aaron Sorkin’s Steve Jobs biopic from Sony.

– Jason Reitman to direct I Would Only Rob Banks for My Family, written by Nick Hornby and based on Skip Hollandsworth’s article.

– Terry Rossio will write and Robert Downey Jr. will produce Yucatan, based on a 1700-page treatment by actor Steve McQueen.

– John August will adapt Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark.

South Park and Team America writer Pam Brady to pen a comedy about female football fans, based on an idea by Laura Dern and Judd Apatow.

– Steven Seagal to star in and produce his script Cypher.

View More Script Sales